Monday, February 12, 2024

Irish teams win double bronze at Culinary Olympics

Irish teams win double bronze at Culinary Olympics

The Seniors


Both Senior and Junior Irish national culinary teams scored bronze medals at the Culinary Olympics 2024 held in Stuttgart Germany from 3-7 February. The demanding international contest took place over four days featuring more than 1,200 participants from 55 nations and over 7,000 menus. The teams cooked under challenging conditions in glass-walled kitchens so visitors and judges could see every move.


“We are extremely proud of all our chefs on both senior and junior teams. Our teams put in a massive effort over many months travelling the country to train together and I am thrilled at the standards they achieved”, said Alan Fitzmaurice, head chef at the Glasshouse Hotel in Sligo, President of the Panel of Chefs of Ireland, and Senior Team Captain for the Culinary Olympics, “It’s an honour to represent our country and to participate at this level under such intense scrutiny”.


The Culinary Olympics was held alongside Intergastra which is Germany's premier trade fair for the hospitality and gastronomy industry and took place at the prestigious Messe Stuttgart. With 1,500 exhibitors, the trade fair is Germany's largest event for the industry, attracting nearly 100,000 trade visitors.

Junior team members


“The IKA/Culinary Olympics is a culinary competition of superlatives and the 26th edition of this event with a long tradition was a great success,” said VKD President Daniel Schade. “The atmosphere was captivating and special from start to finish. “All of the participants put fantastic performances on the plates and showed what true culinary artistry looks like.”


The senior team members were: Alan Fitzmaurice (The Glasshouse Hotel & O’Hehirs/OH Bakery), Will King (Limerick & Clare ETB), Gordon Carrberry (Sodexo Ireland), Garret Carberry (Inchydoney Lodge & Spa), Cathy Ruth (The Washer Woman, Dublin), Jason Brean, (Gather&Gather RDS), Carol Dollery (Limerick & Clare ETB), Aaron Ruth (The Legal Eagle, Dublin), Michael Egan (Aramark Ireland), Ahmad Afig Azam (Monart Hotel & Spa) and Sylvester Dolan (Elements of Chocolate, Leitrim).


The junior team members were: Az Ostman (Monart Hotel & Spa), Chris Leech (Sodexo Ireland Dublin/Culinary Arts at Technological University Dublin), Callum Priest (The Cliff Café/Culinary Arts at Southeast Technological University Waterford), Jessica Beckley (Whitford House Hotel Wexford/Culinary Arts at Southeast Technological University Waterford), Nayara Borges da Costa (Strand Hotel Limerick/Training Hospitality Campus Limerick (LCETB) ), Anthony Rebote (Armada Hotel Clare/Training Hospitality Campus Limerick (LCETB) ), Freddie Cullen (Dunraven Arms Hotel Limerick/Training Hospitality Campus Limerick (LCETB) ), Liam Martin (Sheen Falls Hotel Kenmare/TUS Athlone) and Evan Duane (Tullamore Court Hotel Offaly/Training Hospitality Campus Limerick (LCETB) ).


press release

No comments: